Sunday, June 10, 2012

Book Reviews: Poetry & Short Stories by K.W. McCabe

Day 10 of What’s the Word June
Word of the day: frog prince

Dark and Light: A Small Collection of Poetry
by K.W. McCabe
Date Published: November 2011

Dark and Light: A Small Collection of Poetry includes five poems written by K.W. McCabe. The tiny collection of poems contains a beautiful flow. McCabe eloquently describes the transformation of caterpillar into butterfly and the movement of mysterious sea creatures while also peeking into the darkness of life. This collection has great balance.

Dreams Both Real and Strange I and II
by K.W. McCabe
Anthology Pack
Published: May 4th 2012 by FantaFire Press
Pages: 48 pages
ISBN13 9781476084169

Dreams Both Real and Strange I and II is an anthology pack of short stories by K.W. McCabe. Some of the stories are elaborate while others are super short. I was drawn to the darkness of each short story. The subject matter, while dark, ranged from death, afterlife, choices, grief, remorse, and sadness. I enjoyed the variety of characters and how each story carried itself while sharing the same mood overall. K.W. McCabe gives us magic, mystery, and suspense. I could have easily read an entire book of the tales, Choices and Wraith.

The extra short story, Fairy Foibles is the only story I did not find satisfying. I found it to be less serious than the other stories, making it seem out of place in the anthology.

The anthology ends with a preview of McCabe’s upcoming novel, The Dragon’s Call. It definitely grabbed my attention, and I eagerly await its release.

 I found K.W. McCabe's dark writing to be enjoyable and I think fans of the paranormal and supernatural will as well. You won't find a frog prince in these fantasy stories.

Full disclosure:
Review copies received from the author in exchange for an honest review.


Julie Baugh said...

You got your "frog prince" in neatly there at the end.

Rev. Kim Justice said...

Both books sounds interesting. Thanks for the review.

Breath of Life